New Florida Law Prohibiting Texting And Driving Officially In Effect
| July 2019
The new Florida texting and driving law that makes texting (as well as any variation of typing using a mobile device) and driving a primary violation goes into effect today.
A first violation has a $30 fine, while a second violation has a $60 fine — don't forget court fees and costs, either. Points will also be added to licenses.
This law does not apply to emergency personnel; anyone reporting an emergency or criminal activity to law enforcement; people using a device or system for navigation purposes; or those receiving safety-related information including emergency, traffic or weather alerts.
With this new law, drivers can still operate their phones in “a motor vehicle that is stationary," such as at a stoplight.